Wednesday, April 23, 2014

wittyusernamed:

Let us take a moment to observe the awesomeness of octopus.

My buddy read an article about octopus intelligence. It was feeding time, and the handler dumped some shrimp into an octopus’ tank. Then he went into another room and sat at his desk.

A while later, a shrimp was tossed onto his desk.

The octopus, upon finding one bad shrimp in the lot, had grabbed it, escaped its tank, crossed the hall, and threw the expired shrimp at its caretaker. Not only does this showcase their problem-solving capabilities, but also that it could have escaped at any time. It just broke out this time to chuck an off shrimp in indignation at its handler. That’s not just intelligence, that’s a human-like reaction. Kinda make you wonder exactly how smart these guys can be…

(Source: dralanabloomphd)

typicalhope:

Particle

typicalhope:

Particle

Monday, April 21, 2014
Sunday, April 20, 2014
iainyork:

Tongue of the Dragon by Steven Sobel on Flickr.
Friday, April 18, 2014
Thursday, April 17, 2014
mothernaturenetwork:

Centipede bursts from snake’s stomachThe species of centipede is supposedly very hard to kill, and it likely devoured the snake’s organs as it slowly ate itself out of the snake’s body.

mothernaturenetwork:

Centipede bursts from snake’s stomach
The species of centipede is supposedly very hard to kill, and it likely devoured the snake’s organs as it slowly ate itself out of the snake’s body.

Tuesday, April 15, 2014
Saturday, April 12, 2014
Friday, April 11, 2014
Wednesday, April 9, 2014
Tuesday, April 8, 2014
into-theuniverse:

HR 5171: Yellow Hypergiant

into-theuniverse:

HR 5171: Yellow Hypergiant

Monday, April 7, 2014
best-of-imgur:

Multnomah Whiskey Library, Portland, Oregon

best-of-imgur:

Multnomah Whiskey Library, Portland, Oregon

Colophon

This tumblelog is powered by Tumblr, and was designed by Bill Israel.